Running Dota (1) on Linux with full customkeys

I have been running DoTA conveniently under Linux using Wine. Everything works perfectly without much effort. In this post, I explain the basic steps to get full DoTA Experience.

Configuring Wine

Very little configuration required. Might run straightaway. But there might be problems which will prevent you from switching between windows, minimizing, lose window focus, taskbar showing on top, etc. The best way to solve these is to configure wine to emulate a virtual desktop, and launch Frozen Thrones in a separate workspace. That way, you can switch between workspace conveniently using keyboard shortcuts (It is more convenient than minimizing under Windows). Execute winecfg and select Emulate Virtual Desktop under the Graphics tab. Make sure to fill up your native resolution there (or the resolution at which you will run the game). Run the game through


nimesh Warcraft III  1.26 $  wine Frozen\ Throne.exe

or

nimesh Warcraft III  1.26 $  wine Frozen\ Throne.exe -opengl  # If the above doesn't work for you well.

One problem that I regularly face while switching windows is that the Alt key becomes sticky, causing signalling in the map whenever I click somewhere. Keep Calm, and press Alt once again and release. This will solve it.

Customkeys for Skills

Unfortunately, Warkeys and others of its kind doesn’t work with wine. But there is an alternative for Customizing keys for skills. Head towards drjones.dk/customkeys/generator.php, generate your CustomKeys.txt and paste it under Warcraft III folder (along with Frozen Throne.exe) as CustomKeys,txt. The item section in the website only works with the CustomKey client, which doesn’t work with wine.

Customkeys for Items

I wrote a tool for mapping item keys for DoTA which runs under Linux. Clicking items with mouse is a pain, so I came up with this nifty tool using xmodmap and xbindkeys.


nimesh ~ $  git clone https://github.com/nims11/KeyMapper.git
Cloning into 'KeyMapper'...
remote: Counting objects: 14, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (10/10), done.
remote: Total 14 (delta 2), reused 14 (delta 2)
Unpacking objects: 100% (14/14), done.
nimesh ~ $  cd KeyMapper/
nimesh ~/KeyMapper $  chmod +x *
nimesh ~/KeyMapper $  ./KeyMapper  # Start keymapper, press anywhere F7 Toggle Custom Key Mappings.

Read up the README and keys.conf file. Its really simple, and got you covered.

Enjoy!
dota

7 thoughts on “Running Dota (1) on Linux with full customkeys

    1. nims11 Post author

      For invoker/rubik, the mechanism to simulate screen area click will be needed to implement. Doing so seems simple using ‘xdotool’

      Reply
  1. Noble

    Hello there Your current web page runs up really slow in my situation,
    I am not sure who’s issue is that however , flickr
    starts up relatively good. However , I appreciate you for creating terrific blog post.
    I believe this has been extremely helpful individual who seem to click here.
    I’m hoping I will be able to find even more amazing information and I
    should really complement simply by stating you have done
    amazing writing. To obtain more information from articles that you post,
    I actually have book marked this site.

    Reply
  2. Alexander

    Hey I am not sure whether or not it’s me or maybe
    your internet site but it’s loading pretty slowly for me personally, it took me sort of a
    moment to finally load up however google operates completely .

    Anyways, Thank you for creating such a fabulous blog post.
    Everyone who actually found this page should have discovered this informative article totally useful.
    This one is terrific what you have implemented and
    would like to check out nice content from
    you. Soon after taking a look at your articles, I have book marked your web
    blog.

    Reply
  3. Paige

    Hello there other sites operates good yet your web site is starting slowly which took
    close to a few minutes to be able to load up, I’m
    not sure whether or not it’s my very own issue or maybe
    your site issue. Nevertheless, I’m going to thank you for attaching beautiful article.

    Nearly everybody who actually found this great site really should have observed
    this content absolutely very helpful. This one is undoubtedly terrific what you actually have implemented on this page and wish to
    discover even more articles from you. Soon after looking at the article,
    I have bookmarked your web site.

    Reply
  4. gta5forpsp.com

    Hi there I’m not sure if it is me or maybe your internet site but it’s
    starting honestly slow , it took me for a minute or two in order to load up on the other hand
    digg does work properly . However I appreciate you for
    creating splendid article. I think it has been totally helpful to
    visitor who click here. I am hoping I will be able to find
    more awesome things and I also should certainly
    complement your site simply by stating you’ve done
    wonderful job. To obtain more understanding from content you post, I actually
    have book-marked this website.

    Reply

How did you feel about this post? Push in your reply!